Namaste

Namaste

Namaste is a respectful greeting, salutation, and even valediction in Hindu culture.

Most commonly in the West we use it as a respectful affirmation with someone we feel comfortable with in an environment that it is most proper to use. Β For example a yoga studio Lol πŸ˜‰

It is a beautiful word and means “I bow to the divine in you”.

So to all my readers and followersΒ Namaste πŸ™‚

About The Smiling Pilgrim

"Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God." -- 1 John 4:7 A simple man exploring the mysteries of love - TSP
This entry was posted in Art, Dharma Bits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Namaste

  1. I am glad you shared this! Namastey from India. We also greet elders and respected people with a “Pranaam” which means the same… _/|\_

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I have heard this many times (mostly on TV) – never knew its exact meaning. Very cool!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Beautiful artwork to go with this sacred greeting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. longwayfromhomeblog says:

    So sweet πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing. namaste!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Aww this is sweet πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Namaste! I hear this most morning and for the longest time I thought it just meant something like β€œhey” but now that you shared that it means β€œI bow to the divine in you” I will accept it with much more joy. It means a lot more now.
    Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Namaste! I learnt a new word today πŸ˜‰

    Sabrina 🌻🐣🍭
    http://www.OrganicIsBeautiful.com

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Namaste!!! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Hope says:

    I love it! I have just started to study yoga and it has made a very big difference in my life (one way is by making a blog). Have a great day! -Hope

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Namaste from Canada😊

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Ruby Gee says:

    Thank you! I was wondering what that meant!!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Folabomi says:

    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜.. Beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I’ve heard the word, now I know the meaning- thanks, Pilgrim!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Namaste! Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post – much appreciated. πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. didonablog says:

    I honour the divine in you also !))

    Liked by 1 person

  16. galeweithers says:

    Namaste! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

