Orthodox Hinduism

Hinduism surely is one of the most fascinating religions on the planet.  This is in large part due to it’s origin as a fusion of many distinct cultures and traditions from diverse roots.

The material in which one can throw themselves into in regards to studying Hinduism is almost endless and this leads to an incredibly rich field of information and knowledge.

Within Hinduism there are officially six orthodox systems of thought known as “Astika”.  Although all these great schools of thought accept the Vedas as authoritative they differ wildly in the philosophical tenets they endorse.

The six schools of thought are:

  1. Samkhya
  2. Yoga
  3. Nyaya
  4. Vaisheshika
  5. Mimamsa
  6. Vedanta

At first I was going to do a basic description of each Darsana yet when I started the process I quickly became overwhelmed.  The truth is that one needs to study these systems of thought in their fullness and additionally one needs to become knowledgeable to the tradition as a whole in order to properly understand them.

Hopefully this blog post has sparked your interest in Hinduism and you will study these interesting Astika on your own! 😉



About The Smiling Pilgrim

"Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God." -- 1 John 4:7 A simple man exploring the mysteries of love - TSP
This entry was posted in Dharma Bits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Orthodox Hinduism

  1. mukul chand says:

    wow, never knew about these branches


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s